top of page

The Best of 2016

"Reaching junior year meant I was finally an upperclassman. It was the year when I would start looking at colleges and making important life decisions. It was going to be like the movies. It was finally the year that would make sense." These were my thoughts over the summer. But I finally realized that the other aspects of my life weren't like the movies and this wasn't any different. I then became determined to make it the best year I could and be the best version of myself I could be. Coming back to school I had the thought that this year would be different. Good or bad I wasn't sure but it was going to be different. This being the best year of Mosaic, I finally felt that I knew what I wanted to do with my life and I could realistically achieve it. The BOLTs helped motivate me to catch up on my missing credits and find new interests in things I hadn't considered before. I've grown excited to see what new BOLTs would be offered in the new round. I learned about the hero story, romance arcitype, tragedy, the mathematics of oragami, big and small numbers and their meanings, odds and probabilities in gamling, who I am and the stereotypes in our society. The Inquiry Blocks let me be as curious as I wanted but still learn fun and valuable information that I use in other aspects of my school work and real life. I've learned about why people drink alcohol, why people grieve and what about animals affect our allergies. I've used the Demonstration of Learning nights to show my community and friends what I've worked on and what I've learned. Coming to school everyday used to be a burden and I didn't like it. But this year I've found things I'm interested in, excited about and curious to learn more of. This year has been different. Good and bad but I've made the best of it and everyday I try to be the best Elly I can be. I'm looking forward to next semester. Seeing what new BOLTs are being offered and pursuing the Mosaic EDU project. 


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page